Anson Record

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Ira Kaufman

Pro Football Hall of Fame
Follow Ira Kaufman on Twitter @IKaufmanTBO
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New England Patriots (12)14-23841
2Dallas Cowboys13-33712
3Kansas City Chiefs12-43543
4Pittsburgh Steelers11-53306
5Atlanta Falcons11-53445
6New York Giants11-53227
7Green Bay Packers10-63228
8Seattle Seahawks10-5-13099
9Oakland Raiders12-42824
10Miami Dolphins10-627110
11Detroit Lions9-726811
12Houston Texans9-723912
13Tennessee Titans9-721317
14Denver Broncos9-723715
15Tampa Bay Buccaneers9-722016
16Washington Redskins8-7-120814
17Baltimore Ravens8-820412
18Indianapolis Colts8-817018
19New Orleans Saints7-915319
20Buffalo Bills7-912620
21Arizona Cardinals7-8-116521
22Minnesota Vikings8-816022
23Philadelphia Eagles7-912424
24Cincinnati Bengals6-9-110725
25Carolina Panthers6-1011623
26San Diego Chargers5-118226
27New York Jets5-117328
28Chicago Bears3-134829
29Jacksonville Jaguars3-135327
30Los Angeles Rams4-124330
31San Francisco 49ers2-142431
32Cleveland Browns1-151432

Ira Kaufman

Began career with UPI in New York in 1976 and has written about the NFL since 1979, when he covered the Ray Perkins-led Giants and a rookie QB named Phil Simms. Now working for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Pro Football Hall of Fame
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.