Civitas (Community Common)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Ira Kaufman

SB Nation Radio
Follow Ira Kaufman on Twitter @IKaufmanTBO
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Philadelphia Eagles (12)8-13841
2New England Patriots7-23673
3Los Angeles Rams7-23364
4New Orleans Saints7-23406
5Minnesota Vikings7-23355
6Pittsburgh Steelers7-23542
7Carolina Panthers7-33049
8Kansas City Chiefs6-33097
9Jacksonville Jaguars6-327011
10Seattle Seahawks6-328710
11Tennessee Titans6-326012
12Detroit Lions5-423815
13Atlanta Falcons5-424716
14Dallas Cowboys5-42328
15Green Bay Packers5-419918
16Oakland Raiders4-518717
17Buffalo Bills5-421313
18Baltimore Ravens4-516719
19Washington Redskins4-519814
20Arizona Cardinals4-514423
21New York Jets4-612520
22Los Angeles Chargers3-613021
23Miami Dolphins4-512222
24Houston Texans3-611124
25Tampa Bay Buccaneers3-67229
26Cincinnati Bengals3-69627
27Chicago Bears3-67326
28Denver Broncos3-610325
29Indianapolis Colts3-76128
30San Francisco 49ers1-93631
31New York Giants1-82430
32Cleveland Browns0-91232

Ira Kaufman

Ira Kaufman has reported on pro football since 1979, when he worked for United Press International in New York and covered a Giants team featuring rookie head coach Ray Perkins and rookie quarterback Phil Simms. He has written on 25 Super Bowls and represents Tampa Bay on the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

SB Nation Radio
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.