Lagrange Daily News

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Ira Kaufman

Tampa Tribune
Follow Ira Kaufman on Twitter @IKaufmanTBO
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New England Patriots (10)10-03811
2Carolina Panthers (2)10-03742
3Arizona Cardinals8-23603
4Cincinnati Bengals8-23404
5Denver Broncos8-23366
6Green Bay Packers7-33328
7Minnesota Vikings7-33055
8Pittsburgh Steelers6-42987
9Seattle Seahawks5-528411
10Kansas City Chiefs5-526215
11New York Giants5-525412
12Atlanta Falcons6-422610
13Houston Texans5-521622
14Indianapolis Colts5-525216
15Buffalo Bills5-52529
16New York Jets5-519513
17Tampa Bay Buccaneers5-519423
18Dallas Cowboys3-714225
19Oakland Raiders4-618214
20St. Louis Rams4-612119
21Washington Redskins4-611620
22Chicago Bears4-615318
23Miami Dolphins4-612121
24Philadelphia Eagles4-613217
25Jacksonville Jaguars4-69427
26New Orleans Saints4-69324
27San Francisco 49ers3-75825
28Detroit Lions3-79230
29Baltimore Ravens3-77028
30Tennessee Titans2-83231
31Cleveland Browns2-82332
32San Diego Chargers2-83029

Ira Kaufman

Began career with UPI in New York in 1976 and has written about the NFL since 1979, when he covered the Ray Perkins-led Giants and a rookie QB named Phil Simms. Worked for Tampa Tribune since 1990.

Tampa Tribune
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.