Point Pleasant Register

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Ira Kaufman

Tampa Tribune
Follow Ira Kaufman on Twitter @IKaufmanTBO
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New England Patriots (7)3-03791
2Green Bay Packers (5)3-03772
3Arizona Cardinals3-03445
4Denver Broncos3-03513
5Cincinnati Bengals3-03444
6Atlanta Falcons3-031111
7Carolina Panthers3-03059
8Dallas Cowboys2-12576
9Pittsburgh Steelers2-12857
10Seattle Seahawks1-22958
11Buffalo Bills2-128512
12Minnesota Vikings2-126116
13New York Jets2-12219
14Oakland Raiders2-120526
15New York Giants1-216726
16Philadelphia Eagles1-218724
17Indianapolis Colts1-219318
18Baltimore Ravens0-312117
19Kansas City Chiefs1-222312
20St. Louis Rams1-217815
21San Diego Chargers1-218114
22Tennessee Titans1-212122
23Cleveland Browns1-27925
24Washington Redskins1-29621
25Houston Texans1-213130
26Miami Dolphins1-211818
27Tampa Bay Buccaneers1-26029
28Detroit Lions0-39622
29New Orleans Saints0-32631
30Jacksonville Jaguars1-25728
31San Francisco 49ers1-26720
32Chicago Bears0-31532

Week 3

Poll released: Sep 29

Ira Kaufman

Began career with UPI in New York in 1976 and has written about the NFL since 1979, when he covered the Ray Perkins-led Giants and a rookie QB named Phil Simms. Worked for Tampa Tribune since 1990.

Tampa Tribune
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the pro32.ap.org/poll will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.