Pickens Sentinel

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Pat Kirwan

SiriusXM NFL Radio/CBSSports.com
Follow Pat Kirwan on Twitter @PatKirwanCBS
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Kansas City Chiefs (8)2-03782
2Atlanta Falcons (1)2-03585
3Oakland Raiders (1)2-03476
4Denver Broncos2-032114
5Pittsburgh Steelers (2)2-03436
6Baltimore Ravens2-029212
7New England Patriots1-13424
8Carolina Panthers2-026310
9Detroit Lions2-028813
10Green Bay Packers1-13021
11Dallas Cowboys1-12663
12Minnesota Vikings1-12309
13Seattle Seahawks1-12558
14Philadelphia Eagles1-123411
15Tampa Bay Buccaneers1-024815
16Miami Dolphins1-020018
17Tennessee Titans1-121016
18Washington Redskins1-116723
19Los Angeles Rams1-113820
20Jacksonville Jaguars1-113919
21Houston Texans1-115524
22Buffalo Bills1-112625
23Arizona Cardinals1-114522
24New York Giants0-211117
25Los Angeles Chargers0-212021
26New Orleans Saints0-28926
27Chicago Bears0-25228
28San Francisco 49ers0-25130
29Cleveland Browns0-25229
30Indianapolis Colts0-23031
31New York Jets0-21732
32Cincinnati Bengals0-26727

Week 3

Poll released: Sep 19

Pat Kirwan

Prior to joining CBSSports.com, he was on on-air analyst and columnist for CNN/SI Network and CNNSI.com. Also co-hosts the popular Movin' The Chains radio program on SiriusXM NFL Radio.

SiriusXM NFL Radio/CBSSports.com
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the pro32.ap.org/poll will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.