Pickens Sentinel

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Rick Gosselin

Dallas Morning News
Follow Rick Gosselin on Twitter @RickGosselinDMN
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Kansas City Chiefs (6)5-13731
2Philadelphia Eagles (5)5-13763
3New England Patriots (1)4-23547
4Pittsburgh Steelers4-234510
5Los Angeles Rams4-229211
6Minnesota Vikings4-231412
7Carolina Panthers4-23165
8Seattle Seahawks3-23018
9Washington Redskins3-224715
10New Orleans Saints3-223421
11New York Jets3-314322
12Miami Dolphins3-215825
13Atlanta Falcons3-22864
14Houston Texans3-324218
15Denver Broncos3-22646
16Arizona Cardinals3-314726
17Green Bay Packers4-22602
18Buffalo Bills3-222414
19Jacksonville Jaguars3-317913
20Tennessee Titans3-315124
21Detroit Lions3-32079
22Tampa Bay Buccaneers2-310819
23Baltimore Ravens3-313317
24Dallas Cowboys2-318116
25Cincinnati Bengals2-310823
26Oakland Raiders2-410920
27Los Angeles Chargers2-49328
28Indianapolis Colts2-44027
29Chicago Bears2-45529
30New York Giants1-56030
31San Francisco 49ers0-62431
32Cleveland Browns0-61232

Rick Gosselin

Rick Gosselin enters his 45th season reporting on the NFL in 2017. He has covered the Lions, Giants, Chiefs and Cowboys in his career plus 34 Super Bowls. He has served on the Hall of Fame selection committee for 22 years and is a member of both the senior and contributor subcommittees. 

Dallas Morning News
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the pro32.ap.org/poll will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.