Civitas (Urbana Daily Citizen)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Rick Gosselin

Dallas Morning News
Follow Rick Gosselin on Twitter @RickGosselinDMN
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Philadelphia Eagles (12)8-13841
2Pittsburgh Steelers7-23542
3New England Patriots7-23673
4Minnesota Vikings7-23355
5Los Angeles Rams7-23364
6New Orleans Saints7-23406
7Kansas City Chiefs6-33097
8Carolina Panthers7-33049
9Seattle Seahawks6-328710
10Jacksonville Jaguars6-327011
11Tennessee Titans6-326012
12Detroit Lions5-423815
13Atlanta Falcons5-424716
14Green Bay Packers5-419918
15Dallas Cowboys5-42328
16Buffalo Bills5-421313
17Oakland Raiders4-518717
18Washington Redskins4-519814
19New York Jets4-612520
20Arizona Cardinals4-514423
21Los Angeles Chargers3-613021
22Miami Dolphins4-512222
23Baltimore Ravens4-516719
24Chicago Bears3-67326
25Houston Texans3-611124
26Denver Broncos3-610325
27Tampa Bay Buccaneers3-67229
28Cincinnati Bengals3-69627
29Indianapolis Colts3-76128
30San Francisco 49ers1-93631
31New York Giants1-82430
32Cleveland Browns0-91232

Rick Gosselin

Rick Gosselin enters his 45th season reporting on the NFL in 2017. He has covered the Lions, Giants, Chiefs and Cowboys in his career plus 34 Super Bowls. He has served on the Hall of Fame selection committee for 22 years and is a member of both the senior and contributor subcommittees. 

Dallas Morning News
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.