Williamson Daily News

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Ira Kaufman

Tampa Tribune
Follow Ira Kaufman on Twitter @IKaufmanTBO
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New England Patriots (7)3-03791
2Green Bay Packers (5)4-03772
3Denver Broncos4-03523
4Cincinnati Bengals4-03234
5Atlanta Falcons4-03326
6Arizona Cardinals3-13164
7Seattle Seahawks2-23068
8Carolina Panthers4-03187
9New York Jets3-128314
10Dallas Cowboys2-221712
11Pittsburgh Steelers2-22459
12New York Giants2-224420
13St. Louis Rams2-224819
14San Diego Chargers2-221518
15Buffalo Bills2-22229
16Minnesota Vikings2-224211
17Baltimore Ravens1-317022
18Indianapolis Colts2-220816
19Washington Redskins2-216025
20Oakland Raiders2-216515
21Kansas City Chiefs1-316313
22Philadelphia Eagles1-312917
23Tennessee Titans1-211622
24Cleveland Browns1-37827
25Houston Texans1-36621
26Miami Dolphins1-36124
27Tampa Bay Buccaneers1-33529
28New Orleans Saints1-310331
29Detroit Lions0-47025
30Jacksonville Jaguars1-35430
31Chicago Bears1-37332
32San Francisco 49ers1-33928

Week 4

Poll released: Oct 6

Ira Kaufman

Began career with UPI in New York in 1976 and has written about the NFL since 1979, when he covered the Ray Perkins-led Giants and a rookie QB named Phil Simms. Worked for Tampa Tribune since 1990.

Tampa Tribune
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the pro32.ap.org/poll will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.