The Beaumont Enterprise

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Jenny Vrentas

Sports Illustrated
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New Orleans Saints (10)8-13821
2Kansas City Chiefs (2)9-13682
3Los Angeles Rams9-13664
4New England Patriots7-33312
5Pittsburgh Steelers6-2-13387
6Los Angeles Chargers7-23366
7Minnesota Vikings5-3-12968
8Green Bay Packers4-4-123116
9Carolina Panthers6-32915
10Philadelphia Eagles4-520011
11Houston Texans6-32909
12Tennessee Titans5-426017
13Chicago Bears6-328510
14Seattle Seahawks4-521313
15Atlanta Falcons4-518014
16Washington Redskins6-326115
17Baltimore Ravens4-517718
18Cincinnati Bengals5-419012
19Indianapolis Colts4-518223
20Dallas Cowboys4-520220
21Jacksonville Jaguars3-610921
22Detroit Lions3-610722
23Miami Dolphins5-515419
24Denver Broncos3-611424
25New York Giants2-76330
26San Francisco 49ers2-83928
27Tampa Bay Buccaneers3-68725
28Cleveland Browns3-6-111627
29Buffalo Bills3-77331
30Arizona Cardinals2-73829
31New York Jets3-74526
32Oakland Raiders1-81232

Jenny Vrentas

Jenny Vrentas is in her second season as an NFL writer for Sports Illustrated and The Monday Morning Quarterback (MMQB). She previously spent six seasons covering the NFL for The Star-Ledger in Newark, N.J., including stints as the Giants beat writer and the Jets beat writer.

Sports Illustrated

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.