Lakeway (Bowling Green Times)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Ira Kaufman

SB Nation Radio
Follow Ira Kaufman on Twitter @IKaufmanTBO
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New Orleans Saints (12)9-13841
2Los Angeles Rams10-13723
3Kansas City Chiefs9-23592
4Chicago Bears7-332410
5New England Patriots7-33416
6Pittsburgh Steelers7-2-13404
7Houston Texans7-33109
8Los Angeles Chargers7-33035
9Carolina Panthers6-42788
10Minnesota Vikings5-4-12767
11Dallas Cowboys5-523715
12Indianapolis Colts5-524418
13Baltimore Ravens5-520920
14Washington Redskins6-423811
15Seattle Seahawks5-525214
16Tennessee Titans5-520612
17Green Bay Packers4-5-120813
18Cincinnati Bengals5-515617
19Denver Broncos4-615723
20Miami Dolphins5-515421
21Philadelphia Eagles4-615216
22Detroit Lions4-613425
23Atlanta Falcons4-615219
24New York Giants3-79228
25Cleveland Browns3-6-110222
26Tampa Bay Buccaneers3-76426
27Jacksonville Jaguars3-79524
28New York Jets3-75129
29San Francisco 49ers2-83730
30Arizona Cardinals2-82031
31Oakland Raiders2-83032
32Buffalo Bills3-75927

Ira Kaufman

Ira Kaufman has reported on pro football since 1979, when he worked for United Press International in New York and covered a Giants team featuring rookie head coach Ray Perkins and rookie quarterback Phil Simms. He has written on 25 Super Bowls and represents Tampa Bay on the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

SB Nation Radio
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.