Lakeway (Bowling Green Times)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Jim Miller

SiriusXM NFL Radio
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New Orleans Saints (12)9-13841
2Los Angeles Rams10-13723
3Pittsburgh Steelers7-2-13404
4Kansas City Chiefs9-23592
5New England Patriots7-33416
6Chicago Bears7-332410
7Houston Texans7-33109
8Los Angeles Chargers7-33035
9Carolina Panthers6-42788
10Seattle Seahawks5-525214
11Washington Redskins6-423811
12Baltimore Ravens5-520920
13Indianapolis Colts5-524418
14Tennessee Titans5-520612
15Minnesota Vikings5-4-12767
16Dallas Cowboys5-523715
17Atlanta Falcons4-615219
18Denver Broncos4-615723
19Green Bay Packers4-5-120813
20Cincinnati Bengals5-515617
21Detroit Lions4-613425
22Cleveland Browns3-6-110222
23Miami Dolphins5-515421
24New York Giants3-79228
25Philadelphia Eagles4-615216
26Jacksonville Jaguars3-79524
27San Francisco 49ers2-83730
28Oakland Raiders2-83032
29Arizona Cardinals2-82031
30Buffalo Bills3-75927
31New York Jets3-75129
32Tampa Bay Buccaneers3-76426

Jim Miller

Jim Miller, 42, is a 12-year veteran of the NFL who was drafted by the Pittsburgh Steelers in 1994.  The quarterback played for several teams, most notably the Chicago Bears, and won a Super Bowl ring with the New England Patriots.  A former Michigan State player who still holds many school passing records, Miller has been the MSU football color commentator for seven years. He currently hosts SiriusXM NFL Radio’s show ``Moving the Chains’’ and works for the Big Ten Network and Chicago Comcast Sportsnet.   

SiriusXM NFL Radio

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.