Lakeway (Bowling Green Times)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Rick Gosselin

Dallas Morning News
Follow Rick Gosselin on Twitter @RickGosselinDMN
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Kansas City Chiefs (3)8-13642
2New Orleans Saints (7)7-13774
3Los Angeles Rams8-13591
4New England Patriots (2)7-23643
5Los Angeles Chargers6-23255
6Pittsburgh Steelers5-2-13207
7Carolina Panthers6-23266
8Houston Texans6-328510
9Minnesota Vikings5-3-12879
10Chicago Bears5-326615
11Cincinnati Bengals5-324714
12Washington Redskins5-32228
13Miami Dolphins5-417020
14Atlanta Falcons4-422317
15Seattle Seahawks4-423411
16Green Bay Packers3-4-121912
17Philadelphia Eagles4-425913
18Tennessee Titans4-419321
19Baltimore Ravens4-519016
20Tampa Bay Buccaneers3-510325
21Detroit Lions3-513119
22Dallas Cowboys3-514418
23Denver Broncos3-611223
24Indianapolis Colts3-512124
25Jacksonville Jaguars3-514222
26New York Jets3-69126
27Cleveland Browns2-6-17027
28Arizona Cardinals2-65229
29Buffalo Bills2-73328
30New York Giants1-73730
31San Francisco 49ers2-75531
32Oakland Raiders1-71532

Rick Gosselin

Rick Gosselin enters his 45th season reporting on the NFL in 2017. He has covered the Lions, Giants, Chiefs and Cowboys in his career plus 34 Super Bowls. He has served on the Hall of Fame selection committee for 22 years and is a member of both the senior and contributor subcommittees. 

Dallas Morning News
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.