The Pueblo Chieftain

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Jeff Legwold

Follow Jeff Legwold on Twitter @Jeff_Legwold
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Kansas City Chiefs (2)9-13682
2New Orleans Saints (10)8-13821
3Los Angeles Rams9-13664
4Los Angeles Chargers7-23366
5New England Patriots7-33312
6Pittsburgh Steelers6-2-13387
7Minnesota Vikings5-3-12968
8Washington Redskins6-326115
9Chicago Bears6-328510
10Houston Texans6-32909
11Carolina Panthers6-32915
12Green Bay Packers4-4-123116
13Tennessee Titans5-426017
14Seattle Seahawks4-521313
15Dallas Cowboys4-520220
16Philadelphia Eagles4-520011
17Cincinnati Bengals5-419012
18Miami Dolphins5-515419
19Atlanta Falcons4-518014
20Baltimore Ravens4-517718
21Indianapolis Colts4-518223
22Jacksonville Jaguars3-610921
23Denver Broncos3-611424
24Cleveland Browns3-6-111627
25Detroit Lions3-610722
26Buffalo Bills3-77331
27New York Jets3-74526
28Tampa Bay Buccaneers3-68725
29Arizona Cardinals2-73829
30New York Giants2-76330
31San Francisco 49ers2-83928
32Oakland Raiders1-81232

Jeff Legwold

Jeff Legwold covers the NFL and the Broncos for ESPN/ This will be his 10th season in Denver after five years at Rocky Mountain News and four years at Denver Post. He also covered the Titans for nine years and has covered the Steelers and Bills. He has been a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame Board of Selectors since 1999 and is currently first vice president of the Pro Football Writers of America. 

Jeff Legwold
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.