The Pueblo Chieftain

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by John Clayton

710-ESPN Seattle
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New England Patriots (9)10-23812
2Minnesota Vikings (2)10-23693
3Pittsburgh Steelers10-23503
4Philadelphia Eagles (1)10-23591
5Seattle Seahawks8-43139
6Los Angeles Rams9-33345
7New Orleans Saints9-33286
8Carolina Panthers8-42937
9Jacksonville Jaguars8-428410
10Tennessee Titans8-427211
11Atlanta Falcons7-52668
12Baltimore Ravens7-525514
13Los Angeles Chargers6-625013
14Kansas City Chiefs6-620615
15Detroit Lions6-619512
16Green Bay Packers6-619421
17Buffalo Bills6-618416
18Oakland Raiders6-620119
19Dallas Cowboys6-619518
20Cincinnati Bengals5-714220
21Miami Dolphins5-711426
22New York Jets5-714824
23Washington Redskins5-714317
24Arizona Cardinals5-712321
25Tampa Bay Buccaneers4-88625
26Houston Texans4-89623
27Chicago Bears3-95229
28Indianapolis Colts3-95528
29Denver Broncos3-94927
30San Francisco 49ers2-105931
31New York Giants2-102830
32Cleveland Browns0-121232

John Clayton

Started covering the NFL in 1972 at the age of 18 writing Pittsburgh Steelers stories for the St. Mary’s Daily New and covered the Steelers while in college at Duquesne University. Hired by the Pittsburgh Press in 1976 and was on the Steeler beat until moving west and covering the NFL and the Seattle Seahawks for the Tacoma News Tribune from 1986 through 1998. Working part time at ESPN before being hired by ESPN in 1998 to cover the NFL. While still under contract at ESPN, currenting hosting a sports talk show from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. pacific at 710 ESPN Seattle. This season doing the opposing teams sidelines on the Seahawks broadcast for 710 ESPN Seattle and is the main fill-in on Movin’ the Chains on SiriusXMNFL Radio. Voted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame as the winner of the McCann Award.

710-ESPN Seattle

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.