Lakeway (Clermont News Leader)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Jeff Legwold

Follow Jeff Legwold on Twitter @Jeff_Legwold
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Kansas City Chiefs (3)8-13642
2New England Patriots (2)7-23643
3New Orleans Saints (7)7-13774
4Los Angeles Rams8-13591
5Carolina Panthers6-23266
6Los Angeles Chargers6-23255
7Minnesota Vikings5-3-12879
8Pittsburgh Steelers5-2-13207
9Seattle Seahawks4-423411
10Washington Redskins5-32228
11Chicago Bears5-326615
12Houston Texans6-328510
13Philadelphia Eagles4-425913
14Cincinnati Bengals5-324714
15Green Bay Packers3-4-121912
16Miami Dolphins5-417020
17Atlanta Falcons4-422317
18Baltimore Ravens4-519016
19Tennessee Titans4-419321
20Dallas Cowboys3-514418
21Jacksonville Jaguars3-514222
22Denver Broncos3-611223
23Detroit Lions3-513119
24Indianapolis Colts3-512124
25New York Jets3-69126
26Tampa Bay Buccaneers3-510325
27Cleveland Browns2-6-17027
28Arizona Cardinals2-65229
29San Francisco 49ers2-75531
30New York Giants1-73730
31Buffalo Bills2-73328
32Oakland Raiders1-71532

Jeff Legwold

Jeff Legwold covers the NFL and the Broncos for ESPN/ This will be his 10th season in Denver after five years at Rocky Mountain News and four years at Denver Post. He also covered the Titans for nine years and has covered the Steelers and Bills. He has been a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame Board of Selectors since 1999 and is currently first vice president of the Pro Football Writers of America. 

Jeff Legwold
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.