Lakeway (Clermont News Leader)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Tony Dungy

NBC Sports
Follow Tony Dungy on Twitter @TonyDungy
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New Orleans Saints (12)9-13841
2Los Angeles Rams10-13723
3Kansas City Chiefs9-23592
4Pittsburgh Steelers7-2-13404
5New England Patriots7-33416
6Chicago Bears7-332410
7Houston Texans7-33109
8Minnesota Vikings5-4-12767
9Los Angeles Chargers7-33035
10Carolina Panthers6-42788
11Washington Redskins6-423811
12Dallas Cowboys5-523715
13Seattle Seahawks5-525214
14Green Bay Packers4-5-120813
15Baltimore Ravens5-520920
16Indianapolis Colts5-524418
17Cincinnati Bengals5-515617
18Miami Dolphins5-515421
19Tennessee Titans5-520612
20Atlanta Falcons4-615219
21Denver Broncos4-615723
22Philadelphia Eagles4-615216
23Detroit Lions4-613425
24Tampa Bay Buccaneers3-76426
25Jacksonville Jaguars3-79524
26Cleveland Browns3-6-110222
27Buffalo Bills3-75927
28New York Giants3-79228
29New York Jets3-75129
30Oakland Raiders2-83032
31Arizona Cardinals2-82031
32San Francisco 49ers2-83730

Tony Dungy

The Super Bowl-winning head coach whose teams made the playoffs each of his last 10 seasons, unprecedented in his era, joined NBC's Emmy-nominated studio show Football Night as an analyst in 2009.

NBC Sports
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.