Cleveland (Cleveland Daily Banner)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Jenny Vrentas

Sports Illustrated
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New England Patriots (1)8-23712
2Philadelphia Eagles (11)9-13831
3New Orleans Saints8-23434
4Minnesota Vikings8-23456
5Pittsburgh Steelers8-23583
6Los Angeles Rams7-33145
7Kansas City Chiefs6-42687
8Carolina Panthers7-33128
9Atlanta Falcons6-428512
10Seattle Seahawks6-42709
11Jacksonville Jaguars7-329610
12Detroit Lions6-426113
13Washington Redskins4-619217
14Tennessee Titans6-424111
15Los Angeles Chargers4-620221
16Baltimore Ravens5-521719
17Dallas Cowboys5-520714
18Buffalo Bills5-517015
19Oakland Raiders4-614718
20Cincinnati Bengals4-612726
21Houston Texans4-615624
22Green Bay Packers5-516116
23Arizona Cardinals4-612020
24Tampa Bay Buccaneers4-610728
25Chicago Bears3-76327
26Denver Broncos3-77625
27Miami Dolphins4-69023
28New York Jets4-611722
29New York Giants2-84031
30Indianapolis Colts3-75729
31San Francisco 49ers1-92830
32Cleveland Browns0-101232

Jenny Vrentas

Jenny Vrentas is in her second season as an NFL writer for Sports Illustrated and The Monday Morning Quarterback (MMQB). She previously spent six seasons covering the NFL for The Star-Ledger in Newark, N.J., including stints as the Giants beat writer and the Jets beat writer.

Sports Illustrated

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.