Cleveland (Cleveland Daily Banner)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Tony Dungy

NBC Sports
Follow Tony Dungy on Twitter @TonyDungy
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Los Angeles Rams (12)5-03841
2Kansas City Chiefs5-03722
3Chicago Bears3-12988
4Carolina Panthers3-13229
5Cincinnati Bengals4-13336
6New Orleans Saints4-13484
7New England Patriots3-23457
8Minnesota Vikings2-2-127714
9Tennessee Titans3-223410
10Jacksonville Jaguars3-23063
11Los Angeles Chargers3-226017
12Miami Dolphins3-217615
13Baltimore Ravens3-22735
14Pittsburgh Steelers2-2-125019
15Cleveland Browns2-2-118723
16Washington Redskins2-217413
17Green Bay Packers2-2-122811
18Philadelphia Eagles2-322112
19Tampa Bay Buccaneers2-213122
20Houston Texans2-315626
21Seattle Seahawks2-316918
22Dallas Cowboys2-313021
23New York Jets2-311429
24Detroit Lions2-316424
25Buffalo Bills2-39430
26Denver Broncos2-310316
27Indianapolis Colts1-45025
28New York Giants1-46627
29Atlanta Falcons1-49220
30Arizona Cardinals1-43832
31San Francisco 49ers1-41931
32Oakland Raiders1-42227

Tony Dungy

The Super Bowl-winning head coach whose teams made the playoffs each of his last 10 seasons, unprecedented in his era, joined NBC's Emmy-nominated studio show Football Night as an analyst in 2009.

NBC Sports
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.