Piqua Daily Call

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Rick Gosselin

Dallas Morning News
Follow Rick Gosselin on Twitter @RickGosselinDMN
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Los Angeles Rams (12)7-03841
2Kansas City Chiefs6-13653
3New Orleans Saints5-13504
4New England Patriots5-23652
5Los Angeles Chargers5-23205
6Minnesota Vikings4-2-13237
7Baltimore Ravens4-32886
8Pittsburgh Steelers3-2-13039
9Detroit Lions3-320322
10Houston Texans4-323718
11Washington Redskins4-226816
12Carolina Panthers4-230312
13Green Bay Packers3-2-126711
14Seattle Seahawks3-322415
15Cincinnati Bengals4-32268
16Philadelphia Eagles3-421710
17Miami Dolphins4-317113
18Tampa Bay Buccaneers3-312525
19Chicago Bears3-321713
20Dallas Cowboys3-415419
21Denver Broncos3-412526
22Cleveland Browns2-4-19024
23Atlanta Falcons3-414723
24Tennessee Titans3-413720
25Jacksonville Jaguars3-415017
26New York Jets3-411721
27Indianapolis Colts2-57630
28Buffalo Bills2-55927
29New York Giants1-64529
30San Francisco 49ers1-63728
31Arizona Cardinals1-62731
32Oakland Raiders1-51632

Rick Gosselin

Rick Gosselin enters his 45th season reporting on the NFL in 2017. He has covered the Lions, Giants, Chiefs and Cowboys in his career plus 34 Super Bowls. He has served on the Hall of Fame selection committee for 22 years and is a member of both the senior and contributor subcommittees. 

Dallas Morning News
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the pro32.ap.org/poll will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.