East Oregonian

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Ira Kaufman

SB Nation Radio
Follow Ira Kaufman on Twitter @IKaufmanTBO
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Los Angeles Rams (9)2-03804
2Jacksonville Jaguars (3)2-03755
3Kansas City Chiefs2-03407
4New England Patriots1-13271
5Minnesota Vikings1-0-13413
6Tampa Bay Buccaneers2-030715
7Philadelphia Eagles1-13132
8Cincinnati Bengals2-027516
9Green Bay Packers1-0-13156
10Miami Dolphins2-023718
11Atlanta Falcons1-127910
12Denver Broncos2-025014
13Baltimore Ravens1-12059
14Carolina Panthers1-12478
15Los Angeles Chargers1-122519
16Tennessee Titans1-113026
17Chicago Bears1-119122
18New Orleans Saints1-120613
19Dallas Cowboys1-116425
20San Francisco 49ers1-116123
21Washington Redskins1-114112
22Indianapolis Colts1-112129
23New York Jets1-115317
24Pittsburgh Steelers0-1-119011
25Cleveland Browns0-1-18727
26Seattle Seahawks0-28921
27New York Giants0-26524
28Houston Texans0-26720
29Detroit Lions0-24430
30Oakland Raiders0-27028
31Buffalo Bills0-21832
32Arizona Cardinals0-22331

Week 3

Poll released: Sep 18

Ira Kaufman

Ira Kaufman has reported on pro football since 1979, when he worked for United Press International in New York and covered a Giants team featuring rookie head coach Ray Perkins and rookie quarterback Phil Simms. He has written on 25 Super Bowls and represents Tampa Bay on the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

SB Nation Radio
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the pro32.ap.org/poll will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.