Civitas (Fairborn Daily Herald)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Ira Kaufman

SB Nation Radio
Follow Ira Kaufman on Twitter @IKaufmanTBO
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New Orleans Saints (5)11-23762
2Kansas City Chiefs (7)11-23793
3Los Angeles Rams11-23591
4Los Angeles Chargers10-33446
5Chicago Bears9-43277
6New England Patriots9-43294
7Seattle Seahawks8-53019
8Dallas Cowboys8-529910
9Houston Texans9-43075
10Baltimore Ravens7-625512
11Indianapolis Colts7-625615
12Pittsburgh Steelers7-5-12678
13Tennessee Titans7-623116
14Miami Dolphins7-622418
15Philadelphia Eagles6-720613
16Denver Broncos6-717214
17Minnesota Vikings6-6-123211
18Cleveland Browns5-7-116722
19Green Bay Packers5-7-117121
20Carolina Panthers6-717616
21New York Giants5-815423
22Detroit Lions5-811425
23Tampa Bay Buccaneers5-812820
24Washington Redskins6-711119
25Atlanta Falcons4-98823
26New York Jets4-97730
27Buffalo Bills4-97128
28Jacksonville Jaguars4-95626
29Cincinnati Bengals5-86227
30Oakland Raiders3-104131
31San Francisco 49ers3-104032
32Arizona Cardinals3-101629

Ira Kaufman

Ira Kaufman has reported on pro football since 1979, when he worked for United Press International in New York and covered a Giants team featuring rookie head coach Ray Perkins and rookie quarterback Phil Simms. He has written on 25 Super Bowls and represents Tampa Bay on the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

SB Nation Radio
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.