The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Ira Kaufman

SB Nation Radio
Follow Ira Kaufman on Twitter @IKaufmanTBO
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Los Angeles Rams (12)3-03841
2Kansas City Chiefs3-03674
3Carolina Panthers2-129312
4New Orleans Saints2-131615
5Washington Redskins2-122622
6Baltimore Ravens2-126116
7Miami Dolphins3-030213
8Tennessee Titans2-123123
9Jacksonville Jaguars2-13322
10Philadelphia Eagles2-13517
11Chicago Bears2-123017
12Pittsburgh Steelers1-1-123418
13Tampa Bay Buccaneers2-12438
14Cincinnati Bengals2-124110
15Denver Broncos2-121111
16Atlanta Falcons1-22229
17Green Bay Packers1-1-12376
18Minnesota Vikings1-1-12853
19Detroit Lions1-211430
20New England Patriots1-22465
21Seattle Seahawks1-213225
22Cleveland Browns1-1-112726
23Los Angeles Chargers1-215414
24New York Giants1-29329
25Dallas Cowboys1-210119
26San Francisco 49ers1-26420
27Buffalo Bills1-28232
28New York Jets1-28721
29Oakland Raiders0-33127
30Houston Texans0-33428
31Indianapolis Colts1-29224
32Arizona Cardinals0-31331

Week 4

Poll released: Sep 25

Ira Kaufman

Ira Kaufman has reported on pro football since 1979, when he worked for United Press International in New York and covered a Giants team featuring rookie head coach Ray Perkins and rookie quarterback Phil Simms. He has written on 25 Super Bowls and represents Tampa Bay on the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

SB Nation Radio
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the pro32.ap.org/poll will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.