Lakeway (Lake Gazette)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Ira Kaufman

SB Nation Radio
Follow Ira Kaufman on Twitter @IKaufmanTBO
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New Orleans Saints (11)13-33821
2Los Angeles Rams13-33612
3Kansas City Chiefs (1)12-43574
4Chicago Bears12-43593
5New England Patriots11-53306
6Los Angeles Chargers12-43305
7Indianapolis Colts10-629410
8Baltimore Ravens10-62929
9Seattle Seahawks10-62857
10Houston Texans11-52978
11Dallas Cowboys10-626911
12Philadelphia Eagles9-725515
13Pittsburgh Steelers9-6-124112
14Tennessee Titans9-721914
15Cleveland Browns7-8-121416
16Minnesota Vikings8-7-121813
17Atlanta Falcons7-917320
18Carolina Panthers7-915621
19Miami Dolphins7-916617
20Washington Redskins7-914818
21Green Bay Packers6-9-115618
22Detroit Lions6-1011427
23Buffalo Bills6-1012225
24Cincinnati Bengals6-108426
25Denver Broncos6-1010623
26New York Giants5-1111122
27Tampa Bay Buccaneers5-119823
28Jacksonville Jaguars5-115328
29New York Jets4-124929
30San Francisco 49ers4-125330
31Oakland Raiders4-123231
32Arizona Cardinals3-131232

Ira Kaufman

Ira Kaufman has reported on pro football since 1979, when he worked for United Press International in New York and covered a Giants team featuring rookie head coach Ray Perkins and rookie quarterback Phil Simms. He has written on 25 Super Bowls and represents Tampa Bay on the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

SB Nation Radio
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.