Civitas (The Logan Banner)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Ira Kaufman

SB Nation Radio
Follow Ira Kaufman on Twitter @IKaufmanTBO
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Pittsburgh Steelers (9)11-23814
2Philadelphia Eagles (2)11-23633
3New England Patriots (1)10-33621
4Minnesota Vikings10-33522
5Jacksonville Jaguars9-43079
6Los Angeles Rams9-43265
7New Orleans Saints9-43236
8Carolina Panthers9-43188
9Seattle Seahawks8-52767
10Atlanta Falcons8-527911
11Los Angeles Chargers7-626413
12Tennessee Titans8-524110
13Kansas City Chiefs7-623414
14Baltimore Ravens7-624512
15Dallas Cowboys7-620616
16Detroit Lions7-619616
17Green Bay Packers7-620818
18Buffalo Bills7-618719
19Miami Dolphins6-716524
20Oakland Raiders6-715815
21Arizona Cardinals6-715123
22Washington Redskins5-813021
23New York Jets5-810820
24Cincinnati Bengals5-810822
25Houston Texans4-97725
26Tampa Bay Buccaneers4-96826
27Chicago Bears4-96929
28San Francisco 49ers3-107727
29Denver Broncos4-98430
30Indianapolis Colts3-103428
31New York Giants2-112731
32Cleveland Browns0-131232

Ira Kaufman

Ira Kaufman has reported on pro football since 1979, when he worked for United Press International in New York and covered a Giants team featuring rookie head coach Ray Perkins and rookie quarterback Phil Simms. He has written on 25 Super Bowls and represents Tampa Bay on the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

SB Nation Radio
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.