Lakeway (Louisiana Press Journal)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Jenny Vrentas

Sports Illustrated
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Jacksonville Jaguars (3)2-03755
2Los Angeles Rams (9)2-03804
3New England Patriots1-13271
4Kansas City Chiefs2-03407
5Philadelphia Eagles1-13132
6Minnesota Vikings1-0-13413
7Green Bay Packers1-0-13156
8Atlanta Falcons1-127910
9Carolina Panthers1-12478
10Pittsburgh Steelers0-1-119011
11Los Angeles Chargers1-122519
12Cincinnati Bengals2-027516
13Tampa Bay Buccaneers2-030715
14New Orleans Saints1-120613
15San Francisco 49ers1-116123
16Baltimore Ravens1-12059
17Miami Dolphins2-023718
18Denver Broncos2-025014
19Chicago Bears1-119122
20Dallas Cowboys1-116425
21New York Jets1-115317
22Indianapolis Colts1-112129
23New York Giants0-26524
24Tennessee Titans1-113026
25Washington Redskins1-114112
26Houston Texans0-26720
27Seattle Seahawks0-28921
28Detroit Lions0-24430
29Oakland Raiders0-27028
30Arizona Cardinals0-22331
31Cleveland Browns0-1-18727
32Buffalo Bills0-21832

Week 3

Poll released: Sep 18

Jenny Vrentas

Jenny Vrentas is in her second season as an NFL writer for Sports Illustrated and The Monday Morning Quarterback (MMQB). She previously spent six seasons covering the NFL for The Star-Ledger in Newark, N.J., including stints as the Giants beat writer and the Jets beat writer.

Sports Illustrated

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.