Boone (Middlesboro Daily News)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Jenny Vrentas

Sports Illustrated
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Los Angeles Rams (12)11-13842
2New Orleans Saints10-23641
3New England Patriots9-33524
4Kansas City Chiefs10-23623
5Los Angeles Chargers9-33286
6Pittsburgh Steelers7-4-12948
7Houston Texans9-33327
8Dallas Cowboys7-527812
9Minnesota Vikings6-5-12599
10Chicago Bears8-43055
11Seattle Seahawks7-529110
12Indianapolis Colts6-621711
13Philadelphia Eagles6-623117
14Green Bay Packers4-7-112919
15Baltimore Ravens7-525613
16Denver Broncos6-622516
17Carolina Panthers6-619914
18Atlanta Falcons4-811922
19Tennessee Titans6-619918
20Detroit Lions4-89723
21Cleveland Browns4-7-112820
22Miami Dolphins6-618121
23Jacksonville Jaguars4-89028
24Tampa Bay Buccaneers5-714426
25Washington Redskins6-615915
26New York Giants4-811927
27Buffalo Bills4-87825
28New York Jets3-93829
29Oakland Raiders2-102331
30Cincinnati Bengals5-78824
31Arizona Cardinals3-94832
32San Francisco 49ers2-101930

Jenny Vrentas

Jenny Vrentas is in her second season as an NFL writer for Sports Illustrated and The Monday Morning Quarterback (MMQB). She previously spent six seasons covering the NFL for The Star-Ledger in Newark, N.J., including stints as the Giants beat writer and the Jets beat writer.

Sports Illustrated

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.