Civitas (Mount Airy News)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Jim Miller

SiriusXM NFL Radio
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Pittsburgh Steelers (9)11-23814
2Philadelphia Eagles (2)11-23633
3Minnesota Vikings10-33522
4Carolina Panthers9-43188
5New England Patriots (1)10-33621
6Los Angeles Rams9-43265
7Atlanta Falcons8-527911
8New Orleans Saints9-43236
9Jacksonville Jaguars9-43079
10Kansas City Chiefs7-623414
11Seattle Seahawks8-52767
12Baltimore Ravens7-624512
13Los Angeles Chargers7-626413
14Tennessee Titans8-524110
15Detroit Lions7-619616
16Green Bay Packers7-620818
17Buffalo Bills7-618719
18Dallas Cowboys7-620616
19Arizona Cardinals6-715123
20Miami Dolphins6-716524
21Oakland Raiders6-715815
22Washington Redskins5-813021
23New York Jets5-810820
24Denver Broncos4-98430
25San Francisco 49ers3-107727
26Houston Texans4-97725
27Cincinnati Bengals5-810822
28Chicago Bears4-96929
29Tampa Bay Buccaneers4-96826
30Indianapolis Colts3-103428
31New York Giants2-112731
32Cleveland Browns0-131232

Jim Miller

Jim Miller, 42, is a 12-year veteran of the NFL who was drafted by the Pittsburgh Steelers in 1994.  The quarterback played for several teams, most notably the Chicago Bears, and won a Super Bowl ring with the New England Patriots.  A former Michigan State player who still holds many school passing records, Miller has been the MSU football color commentator for seven years. He currently hosts SiriusXM NFL Radio’s show ``Moving the Chains’’ and works for the Big Ten Network and Chicago Comcast Sportsnet.   

SiriusXM NFL Radio

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.