Civitas (Point Pleasant Register)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Jenny Vrentas

Sports Illustrated
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New Orleans Saints (7)7-13774
2New England Patriots (2)7-23643
3Kansas City Chiefs (3)8-13642
4Los Angeles Rams8-13591
5Carolina Panthers6-23266
6Pittsburgh Steelers5-2-13207
7Los Angeles Chargers6-23255
8Philadelphia Eagles4-425913
9Minnesota Vikings5-3-12879
10Green Bay Packers3-4-121912
11Houston Texans6-328510
12Atlanta Falcons4-422317
13Seattle Seahawks4-423411
14Chicago Bears5-326615
15Cincinnati Bengals5-324714
16Baltimore Ravens4-519016
17Washington Redskins5-32228
18Jacksonville Jaguars3-514222
19Tennessee Titans4-419321
20Indianapolis Colts3-512124
21Detroit Lions3-513119
22Miami Dolphins5-417020
23Dallas Cowboys3-514418
24Denver Broncos3-611223
25San Francisco 49ers2-75531
26Tampa Bay Buccaneers3-510325
27Arizona Cardinals2-65229
28New York Jets3-69126
29New York Giants1-73730
30Cleveland Browns2-6-17027
31Buffalo Bills2-73328
32Oakland Raiders1-71532

Jenny Vrentas

Jenny Vrentas is in her second season as an NFL writer for Sports Illustrated and The Monday Morning Quarterback (MMQB). She previously spent six seasons covering the NFL for The Star-Ledger in Newark, N.J., including stints as the Giants beat writer and the Jets beat writer.

Sports Illustrated

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.