Civitas (News Democrat)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Rick Gosselin

Dallas Morning News
Follow Rick Gosselin on Twitter @RickGosselinDMN
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Los Angeles Rams (12)3-03841
2Kansas City Chiefs3-03674
3Philadelphia Eagles2-13517
4Jacksonville Jaguars2-13322
5Minnesota Vikings1-1-12853
6Miami Dolphins3-030213
7Carolina Panthers2-129312
8New Orleans Saints2-131615
9Baltimore Ravens2-126116
10Washington Redskins2-122622
11Chicago Bears2-123017
12Pittsburgh Steelers1-1-123418
13Tampa Bay Buccaneers2-12438
14Tennessee Titans2-123123
15Cincinnati Bengals2-124110
16Green Bay Packers1-1-12376
17Atlanta Falcons1-22229
18New England Patriots1-22465
19Los Angeles Chargers1-215414
20Denver Broncos2-121111
21Cleveland Browns1-1-112726
22Seattle Seahawks1-213225
23New York Giants1-29329
24Detroit Lions1-211430
25Buffalo Bills1-28232
26Indianapolis Colts1-29224
27Dallas Cowboys1-210119
28New York Jets1-28721
29San Francisco 49ers1-26420
30Houston Texans0-33428
31Oakland Raiders0-33127
32Arizona Cardinals0-31331

Week 4

Poll released: Sep 25

Rick Gosselin

Rick Gosselin enters his 45th season reporting on the NFL in 2017. He has covered the Lions, Giants, Chiefs and Cowboys in his career plus 34 Super Bowls. He has served on the Hall of Fame selection committee for 22 years and is a member of both the senior and contributor subcommittees. 

Dallas Morning News
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.