Pro32: Head to Head

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Ira Kaufman

SB Nation Radio
Follow Ira Kaufman on Twitter @IKaufmanTBO
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New England Patriots (11)13-33831
2Minnesota Vikings (1)13-33672
3Pittsburgh Steelers13-33652
4Los Angeles Rams11-53405
5Philadelphia Eagles13-33294
6New Orleans Saints11-53286
7Kansas City Chiefs10-62989
8Carolina Panthers11-53147
9Jacksonville Jaguars10-62808
10Atlanta Falcons10-629310
11Tennessee Titans9-725615
12Buffalo Bills9-724614
13Los Angeles Chargers9-724613
14Baltimore Ravens9-721811
15Detroit Lions9-720617
16Seattle Seahawks9-721912
17Dallas Cowboys9-719516
18Arizona Cardinals8-817919
19Cincinnati Bengals7-914723
20Washington Redskins7-915018
21San Francisco 49ers6-1017220
22Green Bay Packers7-913421
23Tampa Bay Buccaneers5-119628
24Oakland Raiders6-1011722
25Miami Dolphins6-1010624
26Denver Broncos5-117526
27Chicago Bears5-117627
28New York Jets5-117825
29Indianapolis Colts4-123830
30New York Giants3-133031
31Houston Texans4-124329
32Cleveland Browns0-161232

Ira Kaufman

Ira Kaufman has reported on pro football since 1979, when he worked for United Press International in New York and covered a Giants team featuring rookie head coach Ray Perkins and rookie quarterback Phil Simms. He has written on 25 Super Bowls and represents Tampa Bay on the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

SB Nation Radio
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.