Pro32: Head to Head

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Jenny Vrentas

Sports Illustrated
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New England Patriots (1)10-33621
2Pittsburgh Steelers (9)11-23814
3Minnesota Vikings10-33522
4Los Angeles Rams9-43265
5New Orleans Saints9-43236
6Philadelphia Eagles (2)11-23633
7Jacksonville Jaguars9-43079
8Los Angeles Chargers7-626413
9Atlanta Falcons8-527911
10Carolina Panthers9-43188
11Seattle Seahawks8-52767
12Baltimore Ravens7-624512
13Dallas Cowboys7-620616
14Kansas City Chiefs7-623414
15Detroit Lions7-619616
16Green Bay Packers7-620818
17Tennessee Titans8-524110
18Buffalo Bills7-618719
19Miami Dolphins6-716524
20Oakland Raiders6-715815
21Arizona Cardinals6-715123
22Washington Redskins5-813021
23Cincinnati Bengals5-810822
24Houston Texans4-97725
25Tampa Bay Buccaneers4-96826
26San Francisco 49ers3-107727
27Denver Broncos4-98430
28Chicago Bears4-96929
29New York Jets5-810820
30New York Giants2-112731
31Indianapolis Colts3-103428
32Cleveland Browns0-131232

Jenny Vrentas

Jenny Vrentas is in her second season as an NFL writer for Sports Illustrated and The Monday Morning Quarterback (MMQB). She previously spent six seasons covering the NFL for The Star-Ledger in Newark, N.J., including stints as the Giants beat writer and the Jets beat writer.

Sports Illustrated

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.