Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Rick Gosselin

Dallas Morning News
Follow Rick Gosselin on Twitter @RickGosselinDMN
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Kansas City Chiefs (7)11-23793
2New Orleans Saints (5)11-23762
3Los Angeles Rams11-23591
4Los Angeles Chargers10-33446
5Chicago Bears9-43277
6New England Patriots9-43294
7Houston Texans9-43075
8Seattle Seahawks8-53019
9Dallas Cowboys8-529910
10Indianapolis Colts7-625615
11Tennessee Titans7-623116
12Miami Dolphins7-622418
13Pittsburgh Steelers7-5-12678
14Baltimore Ravens7-625512
15Minnesota Vikings6-6-123211
16Carolina Panthers6-717616
17Denver Broncos6-717214
18Philadelphia Eagles6-720613
19New York Giants5-815423
20Green Bay Packers5-7-117121
21Cleveland Browns5-7-116722
22Tampa Bay Buccaneers5-812820
23Detroit Lions5-811425
24Washington Redskins6-711119
25Cincinnati Bengals5-86227
26New York Jets4-97730
27Atlanta Falcons4-98823
28Jacksonville Jaguars4-95626
29Buffalo Bills4-97128
30Oakland Raiders3-104131
31San Francisco 49ers3-104032
32Arizona Cardinals3-101629

Rick Gosselin

Rick Gosselin enters his 45th season reporting on the NFL in 2017. He has covered the Lions, Giants, Chiefs and Cowboys in his career plus 34 Super Bowls. He has served on the Hall of Fame selection committee for 22 years and is a member of both the senior and contributor subcommittees. 

Dallas Morning News
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the pro32.ap.org/poll will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.