The Daily Reflector

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Jenny Vrentas

Sports Illustrated
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Los Angeles Rams (12)3-03841
2Kansas City Chiefs3-03674
3Jacksonville Jaguars2-13322
4Philadelphia Eagles2-13517
5New England Patriots1-22465
6New Orleans Saints2-131615
7Minnesota Vikings1-1-12853
8Green Bay Packers1-1-12376
9Atlanta Falcons1-22229
10Carolina Panthers2-129312
11Pittsburgh Steelers1-1-123418
12Cincinnati Bengals2-124110
13Baltimore Ravens2-126116
14Miami Dolphins3-030213
15Los Angeles Chargers1-215414
16Tampa Bay Buccaneers2-12438
17Denver Broncos2-121111
18Chicago Bears2-123017
19Washington Redskins2-122622
20New York Giants1-29329
21Tennessee Titans2-123123
22Seattle Seahawks1-213225
23Detroit Lions1-211430
24Indianapolis Colts1-29224
25Dallas Cowboys1-210119
26New York Jets1-28721
27San Francisco 49ers1-26420
28Cleveland Browns1-1-112726
29Buffalo Bills1-28232
30Houston Texans0-33428
31Oakland Raiders0-33127
32Arizona Cardinals0-31331

Week 4

Poll released: Sep 25

Jenny Vrentas

Jenny Vrentas is in her second season as an NFL writer for Sports Illustrated and The Monday Morning Quarterback (MMQB). She previously spent six seasons covering the NFL for The Star-Ledger in Newark, N.J., including stints as the Giants beat writer and the Jets beat writer.

Sports Illustrated

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.