Seminole Sentinel

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Jeff Legwold

Follow Jeff Legwold on Twitter @Jeff_Legwold
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New Orleans Saints (11)13-33821
2Chicago Bears12-43593
3Los Angeles Rams13-33612
4Kansas City Chiefs (1)12-43574
5New England Patriots11-53306
6Los Angeles Chargers12-43305
7Seattle Seahawks10-62857
8Houston Texans11-52978
9Baltimore Ravens10-62929
10Dallas Cowboys10-626911
11Indianapolis Colts10-629410
12Philadelphia Eagles9-725515
13Pittsburgh Steelers9-6-124112
14Minnesota Vikings8-7-121813
15Tennessee Titans9-721914
16Cleveland Browns7-8-121416
17Miami Dolphins7-916617
18Washington Redskins7-914818
19Carolina Panthers7-915621
20Atlanta Falcons7-917320
21New York Giants5-1111122
22Detroit Lions6-1011427
23Denver Broncos6-1010623
24Green Bay Packers6-9-115618
25Buffalo Bills6-1012225
26Tampa Bay Buccaneers5-119823
27Jacksonville Jaguars5-115328
28Cincinnati Bengals6-108426
29San Francisco 49ers4-125330
30New York Jets4-124929
31Oakland Raiders4-123231
32Arizona Cardinals3-131232

Jeff Legwold

Jeff Legwold covers the NFL and the Broncos for ESPN/ This will be his 10th season in Denver after five years at Rocky Mountain News and four years at Denver Post. He also covered the Titans for nine years and has covered the Steelers and Bills. He has been a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame Board of Selectors since 1999 and is currently first vice president of the Pro Football Writers of America. 

Jeff Legwold
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.