Civitas (The Sidney Daily News)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Pat Kirwan

SiriusXM NFL Radio/
Follow Pat Kirwan on Twitter @PatKirwanCBS
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New Orleans Saints (11)12-23822
2Los Angeles Chargers (1)11-33684
3Kansas City Chiefs11-33601
4Chicago Bears10-43456
5Los Angeles Rams11-33373
6Houston Texans10-43247
7Pittsburgh Steelers8-5-130610
8New England Patriots9-53075
9Seattle Seahawks8-62688
10Baltimore Ravens8-625612
11Indianapolis Colts8-627911
12Dallas Cowboys8-62609
13Minnesota Vikings7-6-124713
14Tennessee Titans8-623714
15Cleveland Browns6-7-120120
16Washington Redskins7-717224
17Philadelphia Eagles7-722016
18Carolina Panthers6-816617
19Atlanta Falcons5-911825
20Denver Broncos6-814718
21Miami Dolphins7-718715
22San Francisco 49ers4-106231
23Cincinnati Bengals6-89428
24Green Bay Packers5-8-115319
25Buffalo Bills5-99527
26Tampa Bay Buccaneers5-910822
27Detroit Lions5-99523
28New York Giants5-911221
29New York Jets4-105226
30Jacksonville Jaguars4-103829
31Oakland Raiders3-112830
32Arizona Cardinals3-111232

Pat Kirwan

Prior to joining, he was on on-air analyst and columnist for CNN/SI Network and Also co-hosts the popular Movin' The Chains radio program on SiriusXM NFL Radio.

SiriusXM NFL Radio/
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.