Pro32: Head to Head

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Rick Gosselin

Dallas Morning News
Follow Rick Gosselin on Twitter @RickGosselinDMN
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Los Angeles Rams (12)5-03841
2Kansas City Chiefs5-03722
3New Orleans Saints4-13484
4Cincinnati Bengals4-13336
5New England Patriots3-23457
6Carolina Panthers3-13229
7Jacksonville Jaguars3-23063
8Chicago Bears3-12988
9Los Angeles Chargers3-226017
10Minnesota Vikings2-2-127714
11Baltimore Ravens3-22735
12Pittsburgh Steelers2-2-125019
13Detroit Lions2-316424
14Green Bay Packers2-2-122811
15Cleveland Browns2-2-118723
16Tennessee Titans3-223410
17Philadelphia Eagles2-322112
18Houston Texans2-315626
19Tampa Bay Buccaneers2-213122
20Washington Redskins2-217413
21Miami Dolphins3-217615
22Buffalo Bills2-39430
23Seattle Seahawks2-316918
24Dallas Cowboys2-313021
25New York Jets2-311429
26New York Giants1-46627
27Atlanta Falcons1-49220
28Denver Broncos2-310316
29Indianapolis Colts1-45025
30Arizona Cardinals1-43832
31Oakland Raiders1-42227
32San Francisco 49ers1-41931

Rick Gosselin

Rick Gosselin enters his 45th season reporting on the NFL in 2017. He has covered the Lions, Giants, Chiefs and Cowboys in his career plus 34 Super Bowls. He has served on the Hall of Fame selection committee for 22 years and is a member of both the senior and contributor subcommittees. 

Dallas Morning News
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.