Civitas (Troy Daily News)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Ira Kaufman

SB Nation Radio
Follow Ira Kaufman on Twitter @IKaufmanTBO
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New Orleans Saints (10)8-13821
2Los Angeles Rams9-13664
3Kansas City Chiefs (2)9-13682
4Los Angeles Chargers7-23366
5Pittsburgh Steelers6-2-13387
6New England Patriots7-33312
7Chicago Bears6-328510
8Houston Texans6-32909
9Carolina Panthers6-32915
10Tennessee Titans5-426017
11Minnesota Vikings5-3-12968
12Washington Redskins6-326115
13Dallas Cowboys4-520220
14Philadelphia Eagles4-520011
15Indianapolis Colts4-518223
16Seattle Seahawks4-521313
17Green Bay Packers4-4-123116
18Atlanta Falcons4-518014
19Cincinnati Bengals5-419012
20Baltimore Ravens4-517718
21Miami Dolphins5-515419
22Cleveland Browns3-6-111627
23Denver Broncos3-611424
24Detroit Lions3-610722
25Jacksonville Jaguars3-610921
26Tampa Bay Buccaneers3-68725
27Buffalo Bills3-77331
28New York Giants2-76330
29San Francisco 49ers2-83928
30New York Jets3-74526
31Arizona Cardinals2-73829
32Oakland Raiders1-81232

Ira Kaufman

Ira Kaufman has reported on pro football since 1979, when he worked for United Press International in New York and covered a Giants team featuring rookie head coach Ray Perkins and rookie quarterback Phil Simms. He has written on 25 Super Bowls and represents Tampa Bay on the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

SB Nation Radio
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.