Civitas (Carroll News)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Rick Gosselin

Dallas Morning News
Follow Rick Gosselin on Twitter @RickGosselinDMN
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Pittsburgh Steelers (9)11-23814
2New England Patriots (1)10-33621
3Philadelphia Eagles (2)11-23633
4Minnesota Vikings10-33522
5Carolina Panthers9-43188
6Los Angeles Rams9-43265
7New Orleans Saints9-43236
8Jacksonville Jaguars9-43079
9Atlanta Falcons8-527911
10Los Angeles Chargers7-626413
11Seattle Seahawks8-52767
12Tennessee Titans8-524110
13Baltimore Ravens7-624512
14Dallas Cowboys7-620616
15Detroit Lions7-619616
16Kansas City Chiefs7-623414
17Green Bay Packers7-620818
18Buffalo Bills7-618719
19Miami Dolphins6-716524
20Arizona Cardinals6-715123
21Oakland Raiders6-715815
22New York Jets5-810820
23Cincinnati Bengals5-810822
24Washington Redskins5-813021
25Chicago Bears4-96929
26Denver Broncos4-98430
27Tampa Bay Buccaneers4-96826
28Houston Texans4-97725
29San Francisco 49ers3-107727
30Indianapolis Colts3-103428
31New York Giants2-112731
32Cleveland Browns0-131232

Rick Gosselin

Rick Gosselin enters his 45th season reporting on the NFL in 2017. He has covered the Lions, Giants, Chiefs and Cowboys in his career plus 34 Super Bowls. He has served on the Hall of Fame selection committee for 22 years and is a member of both the senior and contributor subcommittees. 

Dallas Morning News
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.