Civitas (The Stokes News)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Rick Gosselin

Dallas Morning News
Follow Rick Gosselin on Twitter @RickGosselinDMN
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Philadelphia Eagles (11)9-13831
2New England Patriots (1)8-23712
3Pittsburgh Steelers8-23583
4Minnesota Vikings8-23456
5New Orleans Saints8-23434
6Los Angeles Rams7-33145
7Carolina Panthers7-33128
8Jacksonville Jaguars7-329610
9Atlanta Falcons6-428512
10Detroit Lions6-426113
11Kansas City Chiefs6-42687
12Seattle Seahawks6-42709
13Tennessee Titans6-424111
14Dallas Cowboys5-520714
15Los Angeles Chargers4-620221
16Baltimore Ravens5-521719
17Green Bay Packers5-516116
18Washington Redskins4-619217
19Buffalo Bills5-517015
20Oakland Raiders4-614718
21Cincinnati Bengals4-612726
22New York Jets4-611722
23Houston Texans4-615624
24Tampa Bay Buccaneers4-610728
25Arizona Cardinals4-612020
26Miami Dolphins4-69023
27Chicago Bears3-76327
28Denver Broncos3-77625
29Indianapolis Colts3-75729
30New York Giants2-84031
31San Francisco 49ers1-92830
32Cleveland Browns0-101232

Rick Gosselin

Rick Gosselin enters his 45th season reporting on the NFL in 2017. He has covered the Lions, Giants, Chiefs and Cowboys in his career plus 34 Super Bowls. He has served on the Hall of Fame selection committee for 22 years and is a member of both the senior and contributor subcommittees. 

Dallas Morning News
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.