The Telegraph

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Charean Williams

Pro Football Talk
Follow Charean Williams on Twitter @2322NFLCharean
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New Orleans Saints (12)9-13841
2Los Angeles Rams10-13723
3Kansas City Chiefs9-23592
4New England Patriots7-33416
5Pittsburgh Steelers7-2-13404
6Los Angeles Chargers7-33035
7Chicago Bears7-332410
8Carolina Panthers6-42788
9Houston Texans7-33109
10Minnesota Vikings5-4-12767
11Washington Redskins6-423811
12Dallas Cowboys5-523715
13Indianapolis Colts5-524418
14Green Bay Packers4-5-120813
15Seattle Seahawks5-525214
16Tennessee Titans5-520612
17Philadelphia Eagles4-615216
18Baltimore Ravens5-520920
19Miami Dolphins5-515421
20Cincinnati Bengals5-515617
21Denver Broncos4-615723
22Atlanta Falcons4-615219
23Cleveland Browns3-6-110222
24Detroit Lions4-613425
25New York Giants3-79228
26Jacksonville Jaguars3-79524
27Buffalo Bills3-75927
28New York Jets3-75129
29Tampa Bay Buccaneers3-76426
30San Francisco 49ers2-83730
31Oakland Raiders2-83032
32Arizona Cardinals2-82031

Charean Williams

Charean Williams has covered the NFL for 23 seasons. She works for NBC's Pro Football Talk after 17 years at the Fort Worth Star-Telegram and six at the Orlando Sentinel.  

She has served as a selector for the Pro Football Hall of Fame for 11 years, the first woman in that position. Williams also was the first female president of the Pro Football Writers of America, serving a two-year stint for the 2009-2010 seasons. 

Pro Football Talk
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.