The Telegraph

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Jim Miller

SiriusXM NFL Radio
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New Orleans Saints (11)13-33821
2Chicago Bears12-43593
3Los Angeles Rams13-33612
4Los Angeles Chargers12-43305
5Kansas City Chiefs (1)12-43574
6New England Patriots11-53306
7Seattle Seahawks10-62857
8Houston Texans11-52978
9Baltimore Ravens10-62929
10Indianapolis Colts10-629410
11Dallas Cowboys10-626911
12Philadelphia Eagles9-725515
13Pittsburgh Steelers9-6-124112
14Minnesota Vikings8-7-121813
15Tennessee Titans9-721914
16Cleveland Browns7-8-121416
17Atlanta Falcons7-917320
18Carolina Panthers7-915621
19Buffalo Bills6-1012225
20Miami Dolphins7-916617
21Washington Redskins7-914818
22Denver Broncos6-1010623
23New York Giants5-1111122
24San Francisco 49ers4-125330
25Detroit Lions6-1011427
26Green Bay Packers6-9-115618
27Cincinnati Bengals6-108426
28Tampa Bay Buccaneers5-119823
29Oakland Raiders4-123231
30Jacksonville Jaguars5-115328
31New York Jets4-124929
32Arizona Cardinals3-131232

Jim Miller

Jim Miller, 42, is a 12-year veteran of the NFL who was drafted by the Pittsburgh Steelers in 1994.  The quarterback played for several teams, most notably the Chicago Bears, and won a Super Bowl ring with the New England Patriots.  A former Michigan State player who still holds many school passing records, Miller has been the MSU football color commentator for seven years. He currently hosts SiriusXM NFL Radio’s show ``Moving the Chains’’ and works for the Big Ten Network and Chicago Comcast Sportsnet.   

SiriusXM NFL Radio

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.