The Telegraph

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Tony Dungy

NBC Sports
Follow Tony Dungy on Twitter @TonyDungy
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New Orleans Saints (7)7-13774
2Los Angeles Rams8-13591
3Kansas City Chiefs (3)8-13642
4New England Patriots (2)7-23643
5Carolina Panthers6-23266
6Los Angeles Chargers6-23255
7Pittsburgh Steelers5-2-13207
8Minnesota Vikings5-3-12879
9Cincinnati Bengals5-324714
10Houston Texans6-328510
11Chicago Bears5-326615
12Washington Redskins5-32228
13Philadelphia Eagles4-425913
14Green Bay Packers3-4-121912
15Seattle Seahawks4-423411
16Tennessee Titans4-419321
17Baltimore Ravens4-519016
18Atlanta Falcons4-422317
19Jacksonville Jaguars3-514222
20Miami Dolphins5-417020
21Dallas Cowboys3-514418
22Detroit Lions3-513119
23Tampa Bay Buccaneers3-510325
24Cleveland Browns2-6-17027
25Denver Broncos3-611223
26Indianapolis Colts3-512124
27New York Jets3-69126
28Buffalo Bills2-73328
29Arizona Cardinals2-65229
30New York Giants1-73730
31San Francisco 49ers2-75531
32Oakland Raiders1-71532

Tony Dungy

The Super Bowl-winning head coach whose teams made the playoffs each of his last 10 seasons, unprecedented in his era, joined NBC's Emmy-nominated studio show Football Night as an analyst in 2009.

NBC Sports
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.