The Tuscaloosa News

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Rick Gosselin

Dallas Morning News
Follow Rick Gosselin on Twitter @RickGosselinDMN
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Los Angeles Rams (9)2-03804
2Jacksonville Jaguars (3)2-03755
3Kansas City Chiefs2-03407
4Minnesota Vikings1-0-13413
5Green Bay Packers1-0-13156
6Tampa Bay Buccaneers2-030715
7Atlanta Falcons1-127910
8Philadelphia Eagles1-13132
9New England Patriots1-13271
10Los Angeles Chargers1-122519
11Carolina Panthers1-12478
12Miami Dolphins2-023718
13Cincinnati Bengals2-027516
14Denver Broncos2-025014
15Baltimore Ravens1-12059
16Pittsburgh Steelers0-1-119011
17Chicago Bears1-119122
18Dallas Cowboys1-116425
19New Orleans Saints1-120613
20San Francisco 49ers1-116123
21Tennessee Titans1-113026
22Indianapolis Colts1-112129
23Washington Redskins1-114112
24New York Jets1-115317
25Cleveland Browns0-1-18727
26Seattle Seahawks0-28921
27Houston Texans0-26720
28New York Giants0-26524
29Oakland Raiders0-27028
30Detroit Lions0-24430
31Buffalo Bills0-21832
32Arizona Cardinals0-22331

Week 3

Poll released: Sep 18

Rick Gosselin

Rick Gosselin enters his 45th season reporting on the NFL in 2017. He has covered the Lions, Giants, Chiefs and Cowboys in his career plus 34 Super Bowls. He has served on the Hall of Fame selection committee for 22 years and is a member of both the senior and contributor subcommittees. 

Dallas Morning News
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.