Civitas (The Union Daily Times)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Tony Dungy

NBC Sports
Follow Tony Dungy on Twitter @TonyDungy
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New England Patriots (11)13-33831
2Pittsburgh Steelers13-33652
3Minnesota Vikings (1)13-33672
4Philadelphia Eagles13-33294
5Los Angeles Rams11-53405
6New Orleans Saints11-53286
7Carolina Panthers11-53147
8Kansas City Chiefs10-62989
9Atlanta Falcons10-629310
10Jacksonville Jaguars10-62808
11Los Angeles Chargers9-724613
12Baltimore Ravens9-721811
13Tennessee Titans9-725615
14Seattle Seahawks9-721912
15Dallas Cowboys9-719516
16Buffalo Bills9-724614
17Detroit Lions9-720617
18Arizona Cardinals8-817919
19Cincinnati Bengals7-914723
20San Francisco 49ers6-1017220
21Washington Redskins7-915018
22Oakland Raiders6-1011722
23Miami Dolphins6-1010624
24Green Bay Packers7-913421
25New York Jets5-117825
26Tampa Bay Buccaneers5-119628
27Chicago Bears5-117627
28Denver Broncos5-117526
29Indianapolis Colts4-123830
30Houston Texans4-124329
31New York Giants3-133031
32Cleveland Browns0-161232

Tony Dungy

The Super Bowl-winning head coach whose teams made the playoffs each of his last 10 seasons, unprecedented in his era, joined NBC's Emmy-nominated studio show Football Night as an analyst in 2009.

NBC Sports
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.