Lakeway (Vandalia Leader)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Tony Dungy

NBC Sports
Follow Tony Dungy on Twitter @TonyDungy
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1New Orleans Saints (11)13-33821
2Kansas City Chiefs (1)12-43574
3Los Angeles Rams13-33612
4New England Patriots11-53306
5Chicago Bears12-43593
6Baltimore Ravens10-62929
7Los Angeles Chargers12-43305
8Indianapolis Colts10-629410
9Houston Texans11-52978
10Seattle Seahawks10-62857
11Dallas Cowboys10-626911
12Philadelphia Eagles9-725515
13Pittsburgh Steelers9-6-124112
14Minnesota Vikings8-7-121813
15Tennessee Titans9-721914
16Cleveland Browns7-8-121416
17Miami Dolphins7-916617
18Green Bay Packers6-9-115618
19Washington Redskins7-914818
20New York Giants5-1111122
21Denver Broncos6-1010623
22Atlanta Falcons7-917320
23Tampa Bay Buccaneers5-119823
24Buffalo Bills6-1012225
25Carolina Panthers7-915621
26Cincinnati Bengals6-108426
27Jacksonville Jaguars5-115328
28Detroit Lions6-1011427
29New York Jets4-124929
30San Francisco 49ers4-125330
31Oakland Raiders4-123231
32Arizona Cardinals3-131232

Tony Dungy

The Super Bowl-winning head coach whose teams made the playoffs each of his last 10 seasons, unprecedented in his era, joined NBC's Emmy-nominated studio show Football Night as an analyst in 2009.

NBC Sports
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.