Civitas (Williamson Daily News)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Jenny Vrentas

Sports Illustrated
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Los Angeles Rams (12)7-03841
2New England Patriots5-23652
3Kansas City Chiefs6-13653
4New Orleans Saints5-13504
5Minnesota Vikings4-2-13237
6Pittsburgh Steelers3-2-13039
7Green Bay Packers3-2-126711
8Los Angeles Chargers5-23205
9Carolina Panthers4-230312
10Philadelphia Eagles3-421710
11Baltimore Ravens4-32886
12Washington Redskins4-226816
13Houston Texans4-323718
14Cincinnati Bengals4-32268
15Jacksonville Jaguars3-415017
16Detroit Lions3-320322
17Chicago Bears3-321713
18Atlanta Falcons3-414723
19Seattle Seahawks3-322415
20Miami Dolphins4-317113
21Dallas Cowboys3-415419
22Tennessee Titans3-413720
23Denver Broncos3-412526
24New York Jets3-411721
25Cleveland Browns2-4-19024
26Tampa Bay Buccaneers3-312525
27New York Giants1-64529
28San Francisco 49ers1-63728
29Indianapolis Colts2-57630
30Buffalo Bills2-55927
31Arizona Cardinals1-62731
32Oakland Raiders1-51632

Jenny Vrentas

Jenny Vrentas is in her second season as an NFL writer for Sports Illustrated and The Monday Morning Quarterback (MMQB). She previously spent six seasons covering the NFL for The Star-Ledger in Newark, N.J., including stints as the Giants beat writer and the Jets beat writer.

Sports Illustrated

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.