Quincy TV Stations (WXOW-TV)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Ira Kaufman

SB Nation Radio
Follow Ira Kaufman on Twitter @IKaufmanTBO
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Philadelphia Eagles (11)9-13831
2New England Patriots (1)8-23712
3Pittsburgh Steelers8-23583
4New Orleans Saints8-23434
5Minnesota Vikings8-23456
6Jacksonville Jaguars7-329610
7Los Angeles Rams7-33145
8Carolina Panthers7-33128
9Atlanta Falcons6-428512
10Detroit Lions6-426113
11Seattle Seahawks6-42709
12Kansas City Chiefs6-42687
13Tennessee Titans6-424111
14Baltimore Ravens5-521719
15Los Angeles Chargers4-620221
16Dallas Cowboys5-520714
17Green Bay Packers5-516116
18Buffalo Bills5-517015
19Houston Texans4-615624
20Arizona Cardinals4-612020
21Tampa Bay Buccaneers4-610728
22Washington Redskins4-619217
23Cincinnati Bengals4-612726
24Oakland Raiders4-614718
25New York Jets4-611722
26Miami Dolphins4-69023
27Chicago Bears3-76327
28Indianapolis Colts3-75729
29New York Giants2-84031
30Denver Broncos3-77625
31San Francisco 49ers1-92830
32Cleveland Browns0-101232

Ira Kaufman

Ira Kaufman has reported on pro football since 1979, when he worked for United Press International in New York and covered a Giants team featuring rookie head coach Ray Perkins and rookie quarterback Phil Simms. He has written on 25 Super Bowls and represents Tampa Bay on the Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee.

SB Nation Radio
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the pro32.ap.org/poll will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.