The Columbian

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Ira Kaufman

Tampa Tribune
Follow Ira Kaufman on Twitter @IKaufmanTBO
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Seattle Seahawks (11)12-43831
2New England Patriots (1)12-43682
3Dallas Cowboys12-43494
4Green Bay Packers12-43623
5Denver Broncos12-43365
6Pittsburgh Steelers11-53197
7Arizona Cardinals11-52738
8Detroit Lions11-53046
9Cincinnati Bengals10-5-12899
10Indianapolis Colts11-529710
11Baltimore Ravens10-627312
12Philadelphia Eagles10-624912
13Kansas City Chiefs9-722514
14San Diego Chargers9-720711
15Buffalo Bills9-720016
16Houston Texans9-721415
17Carolina Panthers7-8-123718
18Miami Dolphins8-816317
19San Francisco 49ers8-818618
20Minnesota Vikings7-913424
21New Orleans Saints7-912425
22St. Louis Rams6-1012822
23Cleveland Browns7-911323
24New York Giants6-1013221
25Atlanta Falcons6-1012020
26Chicago Bears5-116527
27Washington Redskins4-126326
28Oakland Raiders3-135828
29New York Jets4-128729
30Jacksonville Jaguars3-134230
31Tampa Bay Buccaneers2-142031
32Tennessee Titans2-141632

Ira Kaufman

Began career with UPI in New York in 1976 and has written about the NFL since 1979, when he covered the Ray Perkins-led Giants and a rookie QB named Phil Simms. Worked for Tampa Tribune since 1990.

Tampa Tribune
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.