Civitas (The Jefferson Post)

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Jenny Vrentas

Sports Illustrated
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Kansas City Chiefs (6)5-13731
2New England Patriots (1)4-23547
3Philadelphia Eagles (5)5-13763
4Pittsburgh Steelers4-234510
5Carolina Panthers4-23165
6Seattle Seahawks3-23018
7Atlanta Falcons3-22864
8Washington Redskins3-224715
9Los Angeles Rams4-229211
10Denver Broncos3-22646
11Houston Texans3-324218
12Dallas Cowboys2-318116
13Minnesota Vikings4-231412
14New Orleans Saints3-223421
15Green Bay Packers4-22602
16Detroit Lions3-32079
17Oakland Raiders2-410920
18Buffalo Bills3-222414
19Arizona Cardinals3-314726
20Tampa Bay Buccaneers2-310819
21Tennessee Titans3-315124
22Jacksonville Jaguars3-317913
23Miami Dolphins3-215825
24Los Angeles Chargers2-49328
25Cincinnati Bengals2-310823
26Baltimore Ravens3-313317
27New York Giants1-56030
28New York Jets3-314322
29Chicago Bears2-45529
30Indianapolis Colts2-44027
31San Francisco 49ers0-62431
32Cleveland Browns0-61232

Jenny Vrentas

Jenny Vrentas is in her second season as an NFL writer for Sports Illustrated and The Monday Morning Quarterback (MMQB). She previously spent six seasons covering the NFL for The Star-Ledger in Newark, N.J., including stints as the Giants beat writer and the Jets beat writer.

Sports Illustrated

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.