The Jefferson Post

The AP Pro32

You are here

As Voted by Rick Gosselin

Dallas Morning News
Follow Rick Gosselin on Twitter @RickGosselinDMN
(###) Number of first place votes
RankTeamRecordPointsPV Rank
1Green Bay Packers (6)0-0375-
2Seattle Seahawks (4)0-0367-
3Indianapolis Colts0-0339-
4Baltimore Ravens0-0314-
5New England Patriots (2)0-0359-
6Denver Broncos0-0326-
7Detroit Lions0-0234-
8Dallas Cowboys0-0317-
9Pittsburgh Steelers0-0297-
10San Diego Chargers0-0222-
11Arizona Cardinals0-0267-
12St. Louis Rams0-0162-
13Cincinnati Bengals0-0262-
14Houston Texans0-0204-
15Minnesota Vikings0-0214-
16Miami Dolphins0-0219-
17Philadelphia Eagles0-0253-
18Kansas City Chiefs0-0210-
19Carolina Panthers0-0219-
20New Orleans Saints0-0161-
21New York Giants0-0134-
22Washington Redskins0-066-
23Atlanta Falcons0-0109-
24Buffalo Bills0-0184-
25Oakland Raiders0-069-
26New York Jets0-0103-
27Chicago Bears0-091-
28Cleveland Browns0-059-
29Jacksonville Jaguars0-035-
30San Francisco 49ers0-0104-
31Tennessee Titans0-020-
32Tampa Bay Buccaneers0-041-


Poll released: Aug 4

By Week

Pre-SeasonWeek 1Week 2Week 3Week 4Week 5Week 6Week 7Week 8Week 9Week 10Week 11Week 12Week 13Week 14Week 15Week 16Week 17Final

Rick Gosselin

After moving to the The Dallas Morning News, he covered the Cowboys from 1990-91. Served as the paper's NFL columnist (1992-2010) before his appointment as general sports columnist in 2011.

Dallas Morning News
Follow @name on Twitter @twitter

Poll Methodology

The AP Pro32 is determined by a simple points system based on how each voter ranks the NFL's 32 teams. A team receives 32 points for each first place vote, 31 for second place and so on through to the 32nd team, which receives one point. The rankings are set by listing the teams' point totals from highest to lowest. The mathematical formula is the same as the one used for the AP Top 25 rankings for college football, men's basketball and women's basketball.

History of the Poll

The Associated Press began the AP Pro32 NFL power rankings in 2012. A national panel of 12 voters will participate in the selection process this year. Each voter is among the 50 sports writers and broadcasters who choose the NFL's individual awards at the end of the season. All of the voters have an extensive background in covering the NFL. Some of them — Tony Dungy and Herm Edwards — played and coached in the league. Others — Jim Miller — played in the league. Each week beginning on Sept. 3, AP Pro32 will be updated and comments from some of the voters will be included in a story that accompanies the latest team rankings. In addition, a link to the will be included at the bottom of AP stories throughout the preseason and regular season.